Tears In Heaven

 tears-aaa.jpg

This is a fingerstyle song. In other words you won’t be needing a pick. Most of the song is played on the 2nd and 3rd strings together with either the 5th or 6th. Your right hand is – thumb picking either the 5th or 6th strings, 1st finger picking the 3rd string and 2nd finger picking the 2nd string. Get this right from the start and it will be easier to play. If you can play the intro you should find the rest of the song easy – let me know when you want the rest. Remember you should strum from the elbow, pick from the wrist, but fingerstyle is all in the fingers. Watch your wrist – if it is moving up and down as you pluck you aint doin it right.

When I was learning classical guitar my teacher showed me to hold your forearm out straight ahead (horizontal) and let your wrist go limp so that your hand and fingers point down loosely. Now swing your forearm down without altering the angle of the wrist until your fingertips are touching the strings. This is the correct playing position. Point your thumb up towards the neck and your fingers back towards the bridge. I bet I have an illustration of that somewhere I’ll try and dig it out and post it. It is possible to play with your plucking wrist straight but it seems to force your fingers into more of a clawing action. I don’t play classical anymore you would have to be some kind of hermit monk to get any good at classical but the techniques transfer well into folky style picking.

Here is a step-by-step guide to the intro, the first 8 bars of the song as tabbed above.

Here is the verse and chorus

And here is the bridge (watch these in order)

If this gets too hard here are the chords

tearsinheavenchords2.jpg

And here is the bridge – a bit rough I am afraid but I will try and get back and tidy this up later.

tears-in-heaven-bridge-wp.GIF

~ by jdguitar on July 26, 2006.

44 Responses to “Tears In Heaven”

  1. LOVE this tab for Dani California! I haven’t looked for tabs on the ‘net since OLGA first got shut down in the 90’s. I’ll stop here first when looking for guitar music.

  2. this sites awesome, im definately coming back if i ever need another song …this really helped me too, but what if we want to learn the rest of the song ???

  3. Glad I found this site. I’m definitely coming back for more!

  4. Sir,

    Thank you for posting this lesson. I have already learned the intro part using the fingering you showed.Can you please send me the rest of the tab if you have the time.

    Thank you very much again.

  5. thank you so much for helping me im only 12 years old and i taught my dad how 2 play it. once again thank-you 🙂

  6. hope you keep working on this song, you make it real easy to learn!

  7. sir, i think the chords at some parts are wrong, i think it sld be a E/G# and the hummer on

  8. Thank you very much for such a pedagogic teaching. I thing you are a born guitar teacher with a very good grasp of your students’ possible questions and problems.
    Kepp the good teaching going for a long time
    Yours Studently
    Pierre

  9. thank you ,great teacher was having trouble but you helped me understand cord

  10. Watz up dude?

  11. That was like, totally wicked, in like, so many rad ways,like, dude, totally!

  12. i still dont get it and im only 11 though

  13. You, sir, are awsome!

    If you have time could you make a video for the rest of the song? or send me the tabs for the rest of the song, please

    Thank you

  14. Hey, you are one hell of a teacher!
    Would you be able to send me the rest of the song please? also do you have it recorded? because i have an exam on tuesday and im in desperate need of help.

    Jamie

  15. Cool site. I’ve linked you on my site, Famous guitar Sounds please check it out at:

    http://www.lewzworld.com/famousguitarsounds/

  16. If you have time could you pleasecould you please send me the rest of the song?? Cause I think it is a beautiful song and i want to try to learn it…

    Anna

  17. good

  18. i’m french but i want to say thank you because your explication are very good and your part too !!
    Thank you so muchhh !!
    see you
    guillemette in france

  19. This is real awesome. I can find guitar tabs and chords online, but I always have problems with finger positionings. This takes you through the song step by step in video format. I love it~!!!

  20. Grande!!!!
    Francesco

  21. Greetings from Sweden!
    Your videos are very easy to follow, please keep up the good work!
    Thanks!

  22. I have had so many problems with this song.
    You are just what I needed to fix my hopeless skills. haha
    Thanks so much these lessons!
    I am a self taught guitarist and once again thank you.

  23. you are simply the best thank you very much for posting this cheers!

  24. wow thanks, you really helped alot

  25. Hi! thanks for the lessons! I am planning to learn this song, and you helped me out! Could you send me the rest of the parts of the tabs? I’d appreciate it so much!

  26. Good job Bro! This is, that I was looking for! Thanks 🙂

  27. Wizzard. Its so hard to follow tabs but your video lessons are great. I can start doing more than just chords

  28. Hey Jeff how old do you have to play to have lessons with you?

  29. wow. your an amazing teacher, the video lessons are great! Thanks.

  30. your a legend thanx…. australia

  31. ur great sir

  32. you are sooooooooooooooooooooo cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  33. ur brilliant thanks
    and i love this song

  34. Hey thanks, the vid’s were great helped out alot with the problems I was haveing with it. First thing I found about the bridge seems like there aren’t much vid’s out there to help with the bridge. Great job!

  35. hey mate!!!!!!! meeaaannn!!!!!!!!!!!!!i learnt the whole song in one night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  36. very organized and helpful-thank you for your time!

  37. I just found a new website that I love, thanks alot for showing us how to play songs. I had real trouble learning the bridge for “Tears in Heaven”, but not anymore. thx again

  38. you’re a very good guitarist and a very kind man sharing your talent to the young and old guitar enthusiasts

  39. wow! this is terrific!!
    thank you for putting this up 😀
    do you think you could put up the guitar solo for this song too?

  40. Well done! Thanks for spelling it out.

  41. Great job indeed, u just make people love guitar and give it a try… thanks!

  42. class

  43. Thank you for this fantastic information because finding relevant sites on this topic is sometimes hard to find. You did an excellent job covering the subject and I look forward to more posts from your site. Do you offer RSS Feeds or feedburner to get more content for our blogs? I will be sure to include links from my other blogs to yours.

  44. Great explation. I wished I could talk that fast American to understand it. But you are great 😀

Leave a Reply

 
