The Living End – Wake Up

What a great song! Reminds me of Pink Floyd. Now class we all know who Pink Floyd is don’t we. I just love it when the root is a minor and it goes to the 5 which is a major it never fails to sound good.

wake-up-intro-medium.gif

The chorus is Bm G D F# and at the end of the chorus it sits on G

Check this out http://www.megaupload.com/?d=A56XDXDU

Megaupload.com seem to have this new jive where you have to enter something into a window but it looks like a graphic. This is usually done to avoid auto downloads so there has to be a person there somewhere. Just keep closing the popups. Remember you have to countdown on the 2nd screen to give you time to study the adds

Here is a video of the band live on Rove. I need one of those big bass guitars real bad. There is a bit of an intro which goes on a bit but worth the wait. Hey Ben it looks like he does pick all those in between notes so I guess it isn’t a delay effect like we thought. It is good to see a famous rock guitarist playing good old open G – hey, that was our first chord!!!1!

THE LIVING END LYRICS

“Wake Up”
Bm                     Em
I’ve been buried in the sand
Bm                           A
I’ve come down with no place to land
Bm                        G
I don’t need you to understand
     Bm                   Bm
It’s not what I had planned
Bm                  Em
All the hunger, all the yearning
Bm                    A
With the lifeline that you’re burning
Bm                 G
Poison lessons that you’re learning
Bm         F#                    F#
The road ahead is turning

Bm       G
Suicidal education
D                  F#
It got sold to our generation
Bm                   G
Wake up to the manipulation
D                  F#
Wake up to the situation
G        G
Suicidal education

Stick together side by side
We no longer need to hide
From the darkness into the light
Now is your time

I need something to numb the pain
Forget me and forget my name
Waiting for the time to arrive
No one gets out of here alive

Suicidal education
It got sold to our generation
Wake up to the manipulation
Wake up to the situation
Suicidal education

Wake Up! Wake Up!

I’ve been buried in the sand
I’ve come down with no place to land
I don’t need you to understand
It’s not what I had planned

Suicidal education
It got sold to our generation
Wake up to the manipulation
Wake up to the situation

Suicidal education
It got sold to our generation

Footnote: Normally I avoid songs with the word suicide in them. For some reason which is completely beyond me it seems to be some kind of buzzword at the moment – Pearl Jam, even Paris Hilton uses it in her single. This song just got to me, it is just too catchy.Another thing with this song the lyrics seem to be pretty meaningless anyway!!

~ by jdguitar on June 30, 2006.

4 Responses to “The Living End – Wake Up”

  1. the lyrics are not meaningless they DO have a message in them open your eyes and try READING THE LYRICS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and if you still cant get the message try reading more carefully (read between the lines)

  2. Sorry Mate it is a very cool song. Obviously when I am writing out songs for the kids there are things I have to avoid – lyrics containing cuss words or any overt sexual messages amongst others. I just have a thing about the glamourising or even the trivialising of the word suicide. It could be my age I remember loving Rock and Roll Suicide off the Ziggy Stardust Album by David Bowie back in the day.

  3. It’s an anti-suicide anti establishment song… I interviewed them

  4. Good day!,

Leave a Reply

 
