Boulevard of Broken Dreams – words and chords

 This song is really in Fm but is way easier to play in the key of Em. If you are playing along to the CD then you will need to clamp a capo on to your guitar at the first fret then play it as shown

Boulevard of Broken Dreams – Green Day

Em       G
I walk a lonely road
      D           A                    Em
The only one I that have ever known
               G
Don’t know where it goes
D                    A                 Em   G    D    A
But its home to me and I walk alone

Em          G
I walk this empty street
D               A                  Em
On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
              G
Where the city sleeps
      D               A                  Em    G   D
And I’m the only one and I walk alone
           A               Em    G   D
I walk alone. I walk alone.
         A
I walk alone. I walk a…

CHORUS:
C     G                 D                 Em
  My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me
C     G        D                     Em
  My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating
C       G         D                       Em
  Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
C      G         B7
  ‘Till then I’ll walk alone

Em  G    D     A      Em
Ah-Ah Ah-Ah Ah-Ah Ahhh
   G    D     A      Em
Ah-Ah Ah-Ah Ah-Ah Ahhh

VERSE 2: Em G D A

I’m walking down the line
That divides me somewhere in my mind
On the border line of the edge
And where I walk alone

Read between the lines
what’s messed up and every thing’s all right
Check my vital signs
to know I’m still alive and I walk alone

I walk alone I walk alone
I walk alone I walk a…

CHORUS

~ by jdguitar on May 29, 2006.

35 Responses to “Boulevard of Broken Dreams – words and chords”

  1. why is this song explicit

    • the person who posted this changed one of the lyrics. Instead of “what’s messed up and everything’s alright” it’s really “what F***** up”

  2. its not explicit u dumb ass

  3. how do you play this song without a capo? someone tell me please?

  4. and the stumming pattern?

  5. Well it does contain a cussword to be fair which I have edited out in this version of the lyrics. Look at it from my point of view. I send some 10 year old home with a sheet with the original lyrics. Mum has Grandma visiting and Mum says “play the new song that JD has given you dear” 10 year old sings second verse with great delight “what’s f#%^&d up and everything’s alright” Can’t you just see the look of delight on Mum’s face? I can for sure see the look of joy as she rings the bank to cancel my tuition fee check!!

    To play this without a capo ya have to play in the key of Fm which is gonna be a challenge. The verse chords are Fm, Ab, Eb, Bb. The chorus goes Db, Ab, Eb, Fm ‘n then C. My guess is that they recorded the song either by tuning the acoustic guitar a half step sharp or in regular tuning with a capo. The electric guitars would be in standard tuning using a lot of power chord shapes. We know they are in standard tuning because of that great tag bit on the end of the song which goes to the open E 6th string before it repeats.

    The strum is pretty much just down once on each beat which equals two down strums on each chord. This kind of slow tempo strum always works best with what we call our slow strum. Check this out. Ther is some information here about strumming.

  6. whats the strumming pattern

  7. well thank you for editing it i sure do apriciate it

  8. Strumming patter?? Whats with people and not writing strumming patterns

  9. the strummming patern is easy just listen to the song

  10. Wots the stumming patter it doesnt say or is it just a 4 beat stum? I really need 2 Kno!! thnx email me bak !!

  11. y dont people write the stumming patterns GOSH!!

  12. strumming pattern would cool

  13. I’m looking for the strumming pattern for “down on the corner” by CCR can you help

  14. i need diagram!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. qwqertr

  16. no i need the stumming parterns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  17. Nice, THank you! I can probably play this. :-)

  18. When strumming Boulevard of Broken Dreams, the acoustic guitar generally only plays each chord twice – two slow downstrokes per chord. For the chorus, play each chord in Boulevard of Broken Dreams four times – all with downstrokes. For the Bmajor chord, play the chord five times, then pause.

  19. cool web

  20. so there’s two slow downstrokes

  21. AAAHH WHAT’S THE B7 CHORD I FORGOT.

  22. B7 is a bar in the shape of an A7, x24042

  23. B7 is 1st finger on 4th string 1st fret, 2nd finger on 5th string 2nd fret, 3rd finger on 3rd string 2nd fret and 4th finger on 1st string 2nd fret.

  24. strumming pattern:
    let me give two strumming pattern;
    1, / d / d du / ud / d

    2, / d / d u /d d / d u
    explaination:
    / = counting ( so there are 4 counts) counting can be done by foot tapping.
    d = down stroke
    u = up stroke
    Note that the song is 4/4 time, but chords are changing in every 2 counts mostly . which means 1st strumming pattern can be played as 2 patterns as well as 2nd as 2 patterns.
    Note that the distance between down & up within a count(/) is sensitive. for short distance play together( as 2 16th notes – semi quiver ). for long distance hold for 8th note( quiver).all the best.

  25. great job on strumming pattern, thanks alot

  26. thanks!

  27. I really need the strumming pattern to this can anyone tell me it or tell me where to find it? thnkyou!!!!! (:

  28. just need a diagram to Play the full with chorus

  29. u guys rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ful onnn dude

  30. i love this song

  31. hey, thanks for posting the chords….was looking for a good source, and these sound right!!

  32. gr8 chords there!!
    i just really cant figure out d chorus after repeated trials
    jaya

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

