David Gray – You’re the One I Love, words and chords

What a great song! We have been playing it again and it is one of those songs that  is always good to hear. The chords aren’t too difficult although all that C to F is always a challenge and Dm for some reason is one of those chords that everyone has trouble with. Lyrically the song is perfect, more like poetry. That is a great line ‘running through this life like a field of snow’. Took me ages to get that but I think it means the way snow makes everything look good.

Great song. Medium tempo. Good old down down up up down strum’ll do ya.

 David Gray - The One I Love
       C
 Gonna close my eyes
          G
 Girl and watch you go
           F               Dm
 Running through this life darling
        C
 Like a field of snow
        C
 As the tracer glides
        G
 In its graceful arc
         F               Dm
 Send a little prayer out to ya
            C
 Across the falling dark
          F
 Tell the repo man
         Dm
 And the stars above
            C           C       
 You're the one I love, yeah
         C
 Perfect summers night
       G
 Not a wind that breathes
         F               
 Just the bullets whispering gentle
             C
 'mongst the new green leaves
                  C
 There's things I might have said
      G
 Only wish I could
          F            Dm
 Now I'm leaking life faster
           C
 Then I'm leaking blood
          F
 Tell the repo man
         Dm
 And the stars above (that)
            C
 You're the one I love
            G
 You're the one I love

     Dm         F      Am F C F Am F
 The one I love   whoo-hoo!
                  Whoo-hoo!

           C
 Don't see Elysium
              G
 Don't see no fiery hell
           F             
 Just the lights up bright baby
         C
 In this bay hotel
           C
 Next wave coming in
         G
 Like an ocean roar
           F             Dm
 Won't you take my hand darling
          C
 On that old dancefloor
        F
 We can twist and shout
        Dm
 Do the turtle dove
                C
 And you're the one I love
            G
 You're the one I love

     Dm        F   Am F C F Am F ...G
 The one I love    whoo-hoo!
                  Whoo-hooo!

 
~ by jdguitar on May 19, 2006.

5 Responses to “David Gray – You’re the One I Love, words and chords”

  1. awsome thank you.

  2. You’re the man J.D., you always come through with the chords to my favourite songs. We must have similar tastes in music (and the guitar thing too I suppose)

  3. Wow, this is my new favorite song. It is sung so beautifully. Thanks. Val Gale

  4. Thanks. very concise.

  5. It’s been a while since I came around such great info. Your site is bookmarked and I will come back soon. pro34

Leave a Reply

 
